UC San Diego SearchMenu

Honors Program 2012-2013 Participants

Honors Student 1 Morgan Aitken-Young
Thesis Title:
The Egg That is Not a Girl
Honors Student 2 Susanne Andresen
Thesis Title:
Blake and Wollstonecraft: Original Sin and the Egalitarian Female
Honors Student 3 Ann Batson
Thesis Title:
The Categorization of Margery Kempe
Honors Student 4 Angela Chen
Thesis Title:
Art of Totalitarianism, Technology of Capitalism: A Comparative Reading of Gary Shteyngart's Super Sad True Love Story and Vladimir Sorokin's Day of the Oprichnik
Honors Student 5 Elizabeth Chung
Thesis Title:
Honors Student 6

Luis Cortes
Thesis Title:
The Ideal Marriage and Patriarchal Family in Paradise Lost

Honors Student 7 Catrina Hoppes
Thesis Title:

Gender Roles in Judith Hermann's Fiction
Honors Student 8 Patrick Lee
Thesis Title:
Native Speakers
Honors Student 9 Kevin Macias-Matsuura
Thesis Title:
The Space of Power: Institution and Control in the Corpus of Samuel Beckett
Honors Student 10 Megan Ouyang
Thesis Title:
Exploring Ecotones: The Boundary Between Ecology and Science Fiction
Honors Student 11 Iliya Peyson
Thesis Title:
The Book of Pharmacy and Other Stories
Honors Student 12 Natalie Rosen
Thesis Title:
Embodied (Re)(De)Orientations: Reading the Dawes Act and Smoke Signals through Radical Embodiment
Honors Student 13 Victoria Selzer
Thesis Title:
Darwin and Victorian Literature: Authorial Reactions, Theoretical Readings, and Literary Connections
Honors Student 14 Hao Tam
Thesis Title:
AND-WATER, CYBORG/MONSTER: Critcal Aesthetic of Transnationalism in lê thi diem thúy's The Gangster We Are All Looking For and Bhanu Kapil's Incubation: A Space for Monsters
Honors Student 15 Claudia Vizcarra
Thesis Title:
Comparative Film Analysis: Vicky, Cristina, Barcelona and Biutiful
Honors Student 16 Lori Yost
Thesis Title:
There is no Gray

Award Winners

Sherley Williams Memorial Award
Elizabeth Chung

Burckhardt Award
Susanne Andresen