UC San Diego SearchMenu

2015 Writing Awards Winners and Runners-Up: Alia Bales, Christian Gella, and Gabriella Brody

Awards & Writing Contests

Spring is the time for the Department of Literature’s annual Stewart Prize in Poetry ($300 prize) and Milton Saier Award in Fiction ($1,000 prize) writing competitions, open to all UCSD undergraduates.

You may submit up to 5 poems for the Stewart Prize and one piece of fiction (15 pages max) for the Saier Award. More detailed information is included on the entry forms, which are available in the Literature Undergraduate Office.


The winners will be announced at the Spring Celebration of the Arts Reading and Reception. We hope to see you there.

Winners: 2015

Burckhardt Honors Award in Literary/Cultural Criticism
Nichole Nomura

Dr. Milton H. Saier, Sr. Memorial Award in Fiction
Christian Gella
Runner up: Gabriella Brody

Stewart Prize in Poetry
Christian Gella
Runner up: Alia Bales

Sherley Williams Memorial Award in Literary Arts
Nilufar Karimi

"It may sound awfully cliché, but if you're a writer, studying and living in Paris pretty much guarantees unlimited inspiration. But I imagine that this will be the case studying abroad in any big city, and faced with a new situation."

- Gaelle Faure, Literature/Writing Major, '06
Student Advising:
Danny Panella
Undergraduate Advisor
117 Literature Building
(858) 534-8681
Virtual Advising

Director Undergraduate Studies:
Margaret Loose