UC San Diego SearchMenu

Kazim Ali


Professor Kazim Ali

M.F.A (New York University)

Professor of Literature, Creative Writing 

Primary Office: LIT 442  
Primary Phone: 534-2101 
Quarterly Office Hours

Email: mkali@ucsd.edu  

Kazim Ali received a B.A. and M.A. from the University of Albany-SUNY, and an M.F.A. from New York University. His books encompass poetry, fiction, essay, translation and cross-genre work. He founded the small press Nightboat Books (www.nightboat.org) and currently serves as editor. Prior to joining UCSD Ali taught at various colleges and universities, including Oberlin College, Davidson College, St. Mary's College of California, and Naropa University.

Teaching interests: poetry, cross-genre and hybrid writing, dance and performance studies, border studies, indigenous studies, yoga and spiritual practice, translation theory and practice, literature and social movements.

Book Publications:

Poetry

Inquisition, Wesleyan University Press, 2018 http://kazimali.com/inquisition.html 

All One's Blue, Harper Collins India, 2016 http://kazimali.com/all-ones.html 

Sky Ward, Wesleyan, 2013 http://kazimali.com/sky-ward.html 

Bright Felon, Wesleyan University Press, 2009 http://kazimali.com/bright-felon.html 

The Fortieth Day, BOA Editions, 2008 http://kazimali.com/fortieth.html 

The Far Mosque, Alice James Books, 2005 http://kazimali.com/far-mosque.html 

Fiction

The Secret Room, Kaya Press, 2017 http://kazimali.com/secret-room.html 

Uncle Sharif's Life in Music, Sibling Sivalry Press, 2016 http://kazimali.com/uncle-sharif.html 

Wind Instrument, Spork Press, 2014 http://kazimali.com/wind-instrument.html 

The Disappearance of Seth, Etruscan Press, 2009 http://kazimali.com/disappearance.html 

Quinn's Passage, blazeVox books, 2005 http://kazimali.com/quinn.html 

Nonfiction

Silver Road, Tupelo Press, 2018 http://kazimali.com/silver-road.html 

Anaïs Nin: An Unprofessional Study, Agape Editions, 2017 http://kazimali.com/nin.html 

Resident Alien, Michigan, December 2015 http://kazimali.com/resident-alien.html 

Orange Alert, University of Michigan Press, 2010 http://kazimali.com/orange-alert.html 

Fasting for Ramadan, Tupelo Press, 2011 http://kazimali.com/fasting-for-ramadan.html 

Translations

Abahn Sabana David by Marguerite Duras, Open Letter Books, 2016 http://kazimali.com/abahn.html 

The Oasis of Now by Sohrab Sepehri, BOA Editions, 2013 http://kazimali.com/oasis.html 

L'amour by Marguerite Duras, Open Letter Books, 2013 http://kazimali.com/lamour.html 

Water's Footfall by Sohrab Sepehri, Omnidawn Press, 2011 http://kazimali.com/footfall.html