UC San Diego SearchMenu

New Writing Series Spring 2011, continued.

John Keene and Christopher Stackhouse Wednesday, May 4, 2011 4:30-6:00 p.m. at the Visual Arts Facility: Performance Space

Podcast of Event
John Keene John Keene is the author of Annotations (New Directions) and with artist Christopher Stackhouse of the art-text dialogue Seismosis (1913 Press). He has published his poetry, fiction, essays, and translations widely, and has received many honors, including a Whiting Writers Award and fellowships from the Massachusetts Artists Council and the New Jersey State Council on the Arts. He teaches at Northwestern University.

Christopher Stackhouse Christopher Stackhouse is author of a chapbook of poems Slip (Corollary Press, 2005); and co-author of the collaborative book Seismosis (1913 press, 2006), which features his drawings in philosophical discourse with text by co-author poet/fiction writer John Keene. Stackhouse is a Cave Canem Graduate Fellow, and recipient of an MFA in Writing/Interdisciplinary Studies from The Milton Avery Graduate School of Art, Bard College. He is an advisory board member and contributing editor at FENCE Magazine; a contributing editor for BOMB Magazine; and a contributing poetry editor for VANITAS magazine. His writing has been published in Modern Painters, BOMB, American Poet,The Poetry Project Newsletter, Aufgabe, 1913, Hambone and FENCE, among many other journals and periodicals. He has a book of poems forthcoming from Counterpath Press (Denver, CO), and a book of collected prose forthcoming from Sandpaper Press (Key West, FL).

Visual Arts Facility MFA Graduating Class
Wednesday, May 18, 2011
4:30-6:00 p.m.
Visual Arts Facility: Performance Space

Podcast of Event

MFA First-Year Presentations
Wednesday, May 25, 2011
4:30-6:00 p.m.
Visual Arts Facility: Performance Space

Podcast of Event

Eileen Myles, Anna Joy Springer, Tara Jane ONeil and Rachel Carns Wednesday, June 1, 2011 4:30-6:00 p.m. at Zanzibar at the Loft

In "Your Metaforest Guidebook", Tara Jane Oneil is a wild foley artist, manipulating strings and bows, keys, and bells, and the electric tambourine while Rachel Carns calls upon her background in classical piano and jazz, to perform live improvised melodies in eery and delightful counterpoint to Anna Joy Springer's dramatic readings from The Vicious Red Relic, Love.

PodcastPocast of Event
Eileen Myles Eileen Myles was born in Boston in 1949 and came to New York in 1974 to be a poet. Inferno (a poet's novel) which came out in fall of 2010 from OR books chronicles the adventures of a female writer in hell very much like Eileen Myles. Inferno is actually a kunstlerroman. Myles first became known to many people for her openly female write-in campaign for President of the United States in 1991-92. She received her poetic education at The Poetry Project at St. Mark's Church in 1975-77 where she participated in workshops lead by Alice Notley, Ted Berrigan and others. Her books include The Importance of Being Iceland/travel essays in art (2009) for which she received a Warhol/Creative Capital art writing grant, Sorry, Tree (poetry) 2007, Tow w/ artist Larry C. Collins (2005), Skies (2001), on my way (2001), Cool for You (novel, 2000), School of Fish (1997), Maxfield Parrish (1995), Not Me (1991), and Chelsea Girls  (stories, 1994). In 1995, with Liz Kotz, she edited The New Fuck You/adventures in lesbian reading.She contributes to a wide number of publications including Art Forum, Parkett, The Believer, Vice, Cabinet, The Nation, TimeOut, Book Forum and AnOther Magazine. She lives in New York and is Professor Emeritus at UC San Diego. 
Anna Joy springer Anna Joy Springer is the author and illustrator of The Vicious Red Relic, Love (Jaded Ibis, 2011). She was a singer and songwriter for the 90’s  punk bands Blatz, The Gr’ups, and Cypher in the Snow. She is now at work on a book-length rebus bestiary about punk girls, birds, and the turn of the century. Springer teaches fiction, graphic texts, and experimental writing as an Assistant Professor of Literature at UC San Diego.
Tara Jane Oneil Tara Jane Oneil is a multi-istrumentalist, poet, composer, producer and visual artist.  She creates melodic and experimental music under her own name and in collaboration. Her recordings and live performances range from solo songing to noise improvisations. TJO has composed and performed music and sound for films, theater and dance performances, and written large and small ensemble experimental architectures. She founded the Ecstatic Tambourine Orchestra and has played with the likes of Papa M, Mount Eerie, Ida, Mirah, Michael Hurley, Lori Goldston, and the King Cobra. 

Rachel Carns Rachel Carns is a musician, poet, composer, artist and performer, known for her operatic punk vocals, baroque art-circus organ chops, and distinctive stand-up drumming style. She is a founding member of artpunk metal outfit The Need, sugar pop darlings, Kicking Giant, and stoner sludge duo TWIN (nee The King Cobra). She has collaborated with a grand list of luminaries including Mocket, Two Ton Boa, Miranda July, Wynne Greenwood, Carrie Brownstein, Kathleen Hanna, and the experimental performance art group Cloud Eye Control, and has composed and performed a wide range of original works, including The Transfused, a full-length rock opera.

Subscribe to the New Writing
Series Podcast (Library)


The New Writing Series Program is Free and Open to the Public!

Geisel Library, Seuss Room
Google Map • Directions
Nearby: Hopkins Parking Structure/Gilman Parking Structure

de Certeau Room
Named after Professor Michel de Certeau, this room is located in the Literature Building, first floor room 155
Google Map
Nearby: Parking Lot P508